iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Through tenon or not

Started by iosborne, December 02, 2021, 09:47:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

iosborne

Greetings,
I am building a wrap around porch with post and beams of rough sawn 8x8 green white oak. I curious about the relative benefits and detriments of through tenons vs stub tenons and those in between for the post tenons.  I see the merit of not removing too much wood from the beam but also of having enough relish at the end of the tenon.  I am not planning on stub tenons by the way although I am a newbie here so please don't teazle me. ;)

iosborne

I guess I should clarify a bit.  In Sobon's Timber Framed House he's calling for post top tenons out of 8x8 that are inch and a half off the reference face and inch and a half in width with a height of 3 7/8 inch.  Isn't that undersized shouldn't they be 2 inch off and 2 inch wide?   Is there a reason for this? Why not make the tenons centered on posts? To keep away from heartwood, or simply for ease of layout?
Further, for a one story structure, why not make the tenons longer? Would this weaken the beam significantly? 

Jim_Rogers

The posts in that frame and book, were made out of oak. Some builders only do 1 1/2" tenons in oak as it is stronger then softwoods.
The layout of 1 1/2" off the reference face is a standard layout so that you can use your framing square to offset the layout lines. And then again to check the offset to be sure you have it right:

In the above picture you can see the 1 1/2" tongue of the framing square hanging down on the tenon cheek and the tri square is on the surface of the timber. When you slide the tri square over and it hits the framing square you know you've got to trim a little bit more. It is the way we check our work to be sure it is correct.
Lots of people center tenons on post. But when you do that, you don't have an easy-to-use tool on hand to check the tenon cheek is in the correct spot.