iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sand and Logs Don't Mix

Started by Magicman, August 23, 2013, 10:07:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Magicman

This is my first time to saw in the Coastal Area.  Sand, sand, sand.  Powdery sand that sticks to everything.  I am sawing framing lumber for a new home from Long Leaf Pine and thankfully the bark is slipping which is helping me to get rid of that stuff.  I also can wash the logs with a hose and the water just disappears into the ground.

In keeping with my recent run of bad luck, my first chore was doing field repairs and putting this little jewel back together.

And then it was on to those sandy logs.  Mostly 12"-16" 12 foot logs.  I've got about 50 more to saw.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

Axe Handle Hound

I'm shuddering just looking at those sand encrusted logs.  What kind of band life have you been getting in those? 

giant splinter

Just wondering how much salt is present in that sand, I have worked around beach sand and it can be nasty on equipment. Its almost impossible to get fine sand out of the bark and just when you think you have a clean log the sand shows up again. All you can do is try to clean the logs the best you can and remove the bark when possible.
roll with it

highleadtimber16

I would charge extra to saw those!!
2011 Wood-Mizer LT 40 hyd w/ 12' Extension,
EG 200 Wood-Mizer
Cutting Old Growth Cedar from Queen Charlotte Islands.

Chuck White

Those conditions would make you thankful that you have a debarker!  ;)
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

dgdrls

MM,