iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

MS 261 cylinder and piston replacement

Started by Greenhighlander, May 10, 2020, 07:47:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Greenhighlander

I bought this saw 7 years ago and after a couple years of firewood duty it ended up with a badly scored cylinder and piston. Sadly the shop quoted me almost the same cost to fix it as to buy a new one.  
My questions are , how difficult is it to replace both myself?  am I better off saving up and buying a new one? 

Cheers 

dougand3

Hard to say w/o knowing your wrenching ability. If you can pull the carb off, you can replace the topend. Lots of how-to youtube videos. Be a good learning experience for low cost - a new AfterMarket P&C kit is ~$30. If you mess it up, that's low tuition in the school of self taught. If you get it right, you've got a running saw. Will it be as good as OEM or Meteor topend ($200-$400)? Maybe not but could be close.

Also, why did it score? straight gas, rock ingestion, tuned too lean...are fine for just a topend. Crank seal leak is much deeper repair.
Husky: 372xt, 272xp, 61, 55 (x3)...Poulan: 315, 4218 (x3), 2375, 2150, 2055, 2000 (x3)...Stihl 011AVT...Homelite XL...Saws come in broken, get fixed or parted, find new homes

Greenhighlander

Quote from: dougand3 on May 10, 2020, 09:48:47 AM
Hard to say w/o knowing your wrenching ability. If you can pull the carb off, you can replace the topend. Lots of how-to youtube videos. Be a good learning experience for low cost - a new AfterMarket P&C kit is ~$30. If you mess it up, that's low tuition in the school of self taught. If you get it right, you've got a running saw. Will it be as good as OEM or Meteor topend ($200-$400)? Maybe not but could be close.

Also, why did it score? straight gas, rock ingestion, tuned too lean...are fine for just a topend. Crank seal leak is much deeper repair.
Thank you for the reply.