iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New to felling trees

Started by Timberline, March 25, 2021, 03:29:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timberline

I asked a question in a different part of the forum about best bar and chains for some new clone saws I purchase recently. But I wanted to hone in on a specific question: What is the best bar length for felling trees? I'm fairly new to felling and would like to start felling larger trees up to 30"+. I bought a MS660 clone just for this purpose. Is it best to buy a bar that is at least 2 inches bigger than the tree I am cutting? If I'm cutting say a 28" tree, is a 30" bar the best?

Thanks 

mike_belben

Im gonna be blunt here out of concern, not disrespect or malice.  

That question is a red flag that you are looking at trees that are out of your league right now.   You may try it and survive and learn and maybe grow to be a bonafide slayer some day... but for today... luck is not a good thing to rely on when trying to tell a big old tree who is boss.  

Start smaller.  Please.  Im sure youve got a family that wants you intact.
Praise The Lord

mike_belben

You did come to the right forum.. People here will help you get educated without ridicule .. Im just saying slow down a minute.  Because a real faller can probably lay out a 30" tree with a 14" bar and not get hurt or barberchair.  Armed with the wrong info, any tree can 'chair your head into the next county no matter what equipment you have.  

I am a just try it and see guy and its nearly killed me a few times. 
Praise The Lord

mudfarmer

Also not being disrespectful but just relating my experience:
Read this whole section of the forum, front to back-- it's awesome and you will be amazed at how the varied information and perspectives help broaden your approach and thought process regarding all sorts of tasks not just cutting trees.