iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

3120xp milling on Logosol F2

Started by Jagiddens65, February 08, 2022, 01:21:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jagiddens65

:P 8)

Hi everyone! Newbie here, very excited to have access to the resources here and, hopefully, I can return the service in the future.

I just bought a Logosol F2 setup for milling a good bit of downed trees on my Adirondack acreage (anything from 12-24", mostly pine, some cedar). I wanted a future proof saw that could handle a larger bar or tougher wood species so I opted for the Husqvarna 3120xp. A bit overkill but I'd rather have it and not need it than the other way around.

The seller offered to throw on a 3/8 by 8 sprocket because I heard the chain selection for 3/8 is much broader than that of the 404 that comes stock (if I'm wrong I can go back). I plan on running a shorter bar so I can utilize the logosol bar nose steering (max bar length of 28") and I'd like to grab a handful of ripping chains. I won't be using this for anything but milling... I have a 460 that I'll use for cutting logs to length, etc.

My question: does anyone have any advice on bar/chain combos? There's SO MUCH information about bars and chains and most of the stuff I come across isn't for my setup (mostly because noobies don't usually buy giant saws... 🙃).

I looked through quite a few posts here before posting but I apologize if this has already been addressed.

Thanks for your time, everyone!

Jagiddens65

I spoke to the seller I purchased the saw from (Dave on ebay, thechainsawguy) and he recommended that I go for a 28" bar, .063 gauge with a ripping chain 🚀

forcemac

I have been running a 3120xp on an alaskan mill this past summer..hobby use.  I used a 36" GB bar (3/8, .063) with Granberg rip chain for most of the logs i have done.  Been cutting red oak, silver maple, elm, ash and cottonwood...all 20" plus diameters...5'to 9'.