iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

036 oiler troubles

Started by devo, January 08, 2005, 07:46:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

devo

Not quite shur if I can describe this right but here goes. My 036 Pro has started chewing up bars due to lack of oil. It seems to be getting some oil to the tip of the 18" bar, but no where near enough. I have cleaned the groove and holes in the bar, and the saw uses the right amount of oil. If I run the saw with the bar off, there is lots of oil coming out the port. I noticed the other day that there if way more oil then there should be around the clutch drum area. I have changed the little worm pump, but still seems to be dumping oil in there. This saw is starting to get a little tired and probably should be retired as I make my living with it, but I absolutely love this saw!  Any Ideas?
Crazy enough to try it! (once)

jokers

Hi Devo,

What is the condition of the black plastic tube from the oiler to the outlet where the bar mates with the saw case? If it is cracked or loose fitting, a leak may develop around the pump nipple as a path of least resistance when the bar is installed. When you installed the replacement pump is it possible that the plastic tube was pushed out to where it is crushed when the bar is installed?

Maybe it`s even the brand of bar. If it`s just the tip giving you problems, I`ve come to the conclusion that Stihl`s latest laminated .325 bars are not what they used to be. The 3/8 laminated bars inexplicably seem to be more durable with no pattern of nose problems.

Another friend of mine reports numerous problems with Oregon bars on Stihl saws, although I don`t share that experience.

Russ

devo

Thanks for the info Russ.  :)

When I changed the pump I checked over the tube and didn't find anything wrong, but at the time I thought I had a bad pump, so maybe I didn't look good enough. I will find the time in the next day or so to check it over again.