iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hauling Costs

Started by padlock4134, July 08, 2023, 06:38:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

padlock4134

Hi Everyone!

New member here, excited to be here.

I was wondering what folks are paying out there to move logs.

My brother started a flatbed company, bought a few log friendly trucks (flatbed I believe) and I said I'd help with his business. I am new to the industry and learning the industry (any patience with me is greatly appreciated). I have zero intention on soliciting this community, just merely doing some research.

Are there good resources to see what folks are paying out there to haul logs? What would be some good internal lingo to learn so I don't sound like an idiot.

Thanks.

Gary Davis

WV Sawmiller

Where are you located? Location will have a big impact on costs. Please provide more details. Also what equipment do you have to load and unload logs? That will restrict some customers if you can't unload. The logger may be able to load but how are you going to unload?
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once

gspren

Without your general location no one will venture a good guess, I don't even know what country you are in. Not being harsh, most of us made the same mistake. :D

Added: I see Howard typed faster than me as he should, he's younger.
Stihl 041, 044 & 261, Kubota 400 RTV, Kubota BX 2670, Ferris Zero turn

Southside

How serious are you about this? If you are doing it for hire then a whole bunch of DOT rules apply and a for hire flatbed with logs strapped down to it is a Christmas present to a DOT officer. 
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger