iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

logging in the back yard

Started by spencerhenry, March 04, 2009, 08:12:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

spencerhenry

while i am a professional logger, i have a fair amount of time to work in my own woods. i keep my old cable skidder at home for recreation, and whenever i have time i go out into my own woods of 35 acres and remove all the dead trees. i have almost all aspens, some of the quite nice at around 80'. they are dieing off fast, every year i pull more out, this year it looks like i have about another 300 to 350 to remove. right now there is still waist deep snow but it is so wet that the skidder only sinks about a foot and a half, and once i have a skid road, it is like a highway. so today i have decided to keep track of how many trees i remove "for fun". as of today i am up to 52

timberfaller390

What do you reckon is killing them?
L.M. Reese Co. Land Management Contractors
Stihl MS390
John Deere 50G excavator
John Deere 5103
John Deere 440 ICD dozer

spencerhenry

some have canker, but not alot. some have a fungus that rots the tree from the center out, but most of the dead ones are just dead, no visible issues. my guess is that this stand is just at that time in its life span. i am cutting everything from 6" to 18" dbh trees, but they are tall, i pulled one out stump to crown, it measured 82'. from my experience that is a tall aspen. around here at my elevation of 8600' it takes about 100 years to grow a 12" diameter 80' tree. it has been a long time since i counted rings, but now that i think about it, i will count one from yesterday. there hasnt been a fire through here in probably over 100 years, and until i started cutting in '92 no one had done anything in this woods for a long time.

indiaxman1