iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Square rule still a viable layout method given this problem?

Started by SyrupHog, January 18, 2024, 08:21:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SyrupHog

Well, I've done it!  I've read so much and researched enough to get my head in a knot  :-\ and now I feel like things are as clear as mud.  I thought I had it figured out, but I just realized that truly, I'm a bit lost.  Here's my predicament...

Background...I'm new to timber framing...never built one.  Done plenty of stick framing, renos, additions, etc...even some basic post and beam work...but never true timber framing.  On my plate (for fun) is a sugar shack to build here on our own property.  I've got a bandsaw mill and I've got a decent amount of white pine on the property to use for timbers.  To date I've cut nine 8x8 posts that are 11' long, seven 4x6 cants that are 10' long (to be used for braces and girts), and I've got a bunch of 1x6, 1x8 and 1x10 material that is stacked for use on the project.  The project is a 18 x 24 building, consisting of 3 bents, with rafter plates, and common rafters.