iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is the general public familiar with public land survey system?

Started by bigtrees, May 28, 2018, 01:58:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bigtrees

Curiosity question.

How familiar do you think the general public is with reading legal descriptions of where a parcel is located, with respect to the public land survey system?

For example, if you walked up to a random joe on the street, gave him a map, and said "please locate where the E 1/2 of the NW 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of Section 8, T15N, R20W", would they be able to find it? Or would they look at you with a deer in the headlight look?

When I was in high school, we spent one day learning about it during our natural science course. My science teacher was retired from the Forest Service though and I don't think it's standard. My impression is that the majority of people are not very familiar with the PLSS system.

lxskllr

I'm a surveyor, but on the east, and only nominally familiar with the western system. I could figure it out, but that's what I do. As far as eastern surveying goes, most people only have an inkling of what's involved, and they usually think it's much easier than it is.

bigtrees

Quote from: lxskllr on May 28, 2018, 02:37:00 PM
I'm a surveyor, but on the east, and only nominally familiar with the western system. I could figure it out, but that's what I do. As far as eastern surveying goes, most people only have an inkling of what's involved, and they usually think it's much easier than it is.
Can you clarify eastern versus western? Are you saying that you don't do quarter sections and quarter-quarter sections, etc in the east?

I have never spent much time over there and wasn't aware it is different.

WV Sawmiller