iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Finding it hard to get/buy logs in northern IL

Started by RussMaGuss, July 15, 2020, 10:15:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RussMaGuss

I'm still fairly new to milling (only a couple years in so far), and have yet to really establish any contacts with tree removal services, which I think in my area is probably the main resource. Anybody in the area willing to share ideas on getting/buying logs? Homer Tree service in Lockport is really close, but every time I talk to someone on the phone there they say they don't sell logs. I've got to believe someone in the company would sell from the mile long pile of logs vs throwing them in their mulcher. It's just a matter of finding that someone.. I did talk to one of their drivers a couple months ago and he wrote my name and number down in a book in his truck, but no calls from him yet either. Alternatively, I've called quite a few tree removal services over the last few months and have yet to get a call back. I feel like I'm striking out every time I get up to the plate, so any advice on who to talk to (owner of the company vs truck driver etc), how to phrase the conversations, etc is really appreciated!

As far as what kind of logs I'm looking for--pretty much anything but pine (I hate that sap!) Almost any size, as I have a 26" band mill and a 10-30 lucas on the way. Not really picky, just looking for stuff to cut!

There's a fella I've been talking to with about 1500bdft of walnut apparently, but he is about a 6hr drive 1 way and the logs are cracked on the ends. He wants .30/bdft which I feel is probably a decent deal, but the cracks worry me. Attached is a picture of how most of them look. The cracks on the edge of the logs are what concern me more than the butt cuts. These logs have probably been sitting a LONG time

mike_belben

Those cracks will go in about 6 inches.  Just make sure theyre trimmed clean before your bd ft bill is tallied up.