iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Restoring an old house in Slovenia

Started by jcalderera, May 05, 2020, 10:08:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jcalderera

Hello,

I am a new member to the Forestry Forum and was hoping to get some advice from any of you that are kind enough to take the time to help.  I have lived in Slovenia for about 9 years now and I have an old house on my property (200-300 years) that I am hoping to restore.

I don't have any timber framing experience but I have some woodworking experience making furniture,  using mostly hand tools for making joinery.  My last project, making a greenhouse, was as close to timber framing as I.  I practiced knee braces (thanks to a killer tutorial I found here...Thanks Mr. Jim Rogers!) and undersquinted wedged scarf joints.  I may be in over my head with this renovation project but I genuinely believe I can pull it off with the correct preparation.   

First, it may be wise to accustom myself with the correct terminology  for timber framing.  Before I ask specific questions about the joinery, I should know the names of what I am joining.  Below are some pictures of the house and my best guess as to what all the components are called.  If possible, can someone please correct what is sure to be several incorrect names of the components?

Thanks,

John

D L Bahler

What part of Slovenia? Are you perhaps nearer the Austrian border? I ask because the framing seems to be related to German framing methods. I know Slovenia has a long history of rule by Austria, so this would make sense. (I've bought some very old Austrian-made tools from Slovenia and Hungary before) 

Terminology depends a lot on who you are talking to. 
What you have here I would say is a typical Austrian "Stehender Dachstuhl" complete with Austrian/Alpine Germanic style joinery. 

In English I'd  describe your parts like this, using your labels for reference: