iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Total noob, interested in starting to mill, interested in your opinions.

Started by AppalachianN00b, November 22, 2019, 11:42:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AppalachianN00b

Hi all, new to the forum. I've watched basically everything I can on youtube and browsed so many threads over the last couple months. I've been a very casual woodworker for about a decade but interested in picking that up. I recently found that I have very solid access to a lot of decent if small timber--walnut, locust, oak, maple chiefly, much in the sub-24" range. I don't have storage (or commitment, yet) for a bandsaw mill so clearly alaskan is the way to go, especially because much of it is on a hillside and not particularly accessible.

I picked up an echo CS590, and I'm confident this is plenty of saw for what I'm looking at and how often I'm wanting to do it. Right now what I keep waffling on is whether it's worthwhile to spend on the Granberg or if any of the *much cheaper* clones are decent. I have a winch I can add, people seem to think it's ideal. Same for ripping chain, Oregon/Stihl/Granberg/chinese?

Right now I've got a ~30' long black locust waiting for me, still very green, 26" at its widest which I think is probably too much for this saw, although really 6 or 8' planks are fine for my needs. Several smaller walnuts sub 18" and random other bits. We had two microbursts and a tornado here this summer, lots and LOTS of quality trees on the ground still.

Auxillary oiler? Normal bar or more 10w? Go ahead and muffler mod or not so much? Stop overthinking and just get to it? Say screw it and pick up a MS660 chinese clone?

Any thoughts are welcome. Wood will be dried in an unused, not-climate-controlled barn. Truck can tote 7 tons so I'm not worried about moving it once it's milled...

Thanks in advance for tolerating my noobness.

taylorsmissbeehaven