iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Loft / Mezaninne floor with Timber frame ideas

Started by Kick-the-PA, November 19, 2015, 01:20:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kick-the-PA

HI Everybody,

Finally registered after simply observing for a few months. I'm new to TF and loving every minutes of it. I wish I had my own saw mill but Im not there yet. Luckily I have a great source for wood from a local Mill (10 minutes) from my place. I always been a manual/hands on kinda guy ever since I got my Dad's hammer. Always love and appreciate the feeling of doing something with your hands and seeing the end results. When I first when to get some cedar for a picnic table, that's when I discovered the Mill I get all my wood now and I was hook right away on everything related to ruff cut wood, full dimension, wood slabs, big timbers, round logs etc. Just freaking love.

Now that I found a local supply for the wood, I then started imagining all the projects is could make out of big wood or in TF.
First thing I wished to do was redo my Deck in a TF fashion. My reference material was the book "The Timber Framing Book" by stewart Elliot & Eugene Wallas. I found this book reference from a youtube video. What I used in the book was the plans they provided at the end to build a 12'x16' shed. I thought I could use the floor design and apply that to build my new deck.

The plans from the book

I first needed some saw horse to support the work on the timber

Then I got the timbers (sills) to begin on that. 6''x10''x14', Pine wood

I first thought I could do my deck but that project is dependent on me also digging up my foundation and re-insulating it etc. So that was out the window for now and I thought I could renovate the flat roof section of my garage.

So the idea came to get rid of the Flat roof, continue the existing roof, build a loft/Mezaninne and that's when I thought I could use the big timbers to build the floor.