iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

24' x 36' Workshop

Started by jmaine, February 05, 2023, 05:39:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jmaine

Good afternoon folks, 

I've gotten some excellent advice from folks from this forum so I thought I'd reach out for your advice about a frame I'm design.  It's a 24' x 36' workshop. The timbers will be hemlock and pine with red oak braces. The frame is a modified version of one in Steve Chappell's book, "A Timber Framer's Workshop". The frame in the book is a 16' x 22' saltbox with two bents. The joinery for the tie beam is a wedged half dovetail in the front and an English tying joint in the back.  The roof pitch is 10/12 but 9/12 for my frame. The tie beams are 7" x 12", posts are 7" x 10", rafters are 7" x 10", braces are 3" x 5". I've put the bents 12' on center, the 16' makes me nervous. I've built two timber frame sheds and a 28' x 36' barn with a 12' x 36' shed addition so I'm not a complete novice. I'll be using square rule.   Below is my design, any comments/suggestions? I'm wondering if I have too many braces (36" run). Any comments/suggestions?  Thanks!  Joe 

Jim_Rogers

The standing braces (the ones going from the top of the tie beam to the inside of the tall posts) should have 5" tenon at least. Those will be in tension.

Jim Rogers
Whatever you do, have fun doing it!
Woodmizer 1994 LT30HDG24 with 6' Bed Extension

jmaine