iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New member's intro comments

Started by lamimartin, June 11, 2014, 10:38:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lamimartin

Hi,
I just discovered this forum as I was chasing for a source of self releasing snatch block for the tractor's logging winch I just purchased (used). I just purchased a 130,000 sq feet of maple bush over here in Qc that I currrently prepare for construction of my new house in the next two years. Considering the long term need of a modest tractor, adding a PTO driven winch appears to me the only way to prepare the area and maintain the properly by myself.

Both my Dad and grandfather were loggers (with horses, not tractors). I'm a Registred Nurse, preparing for retirement in a few years. The forestry forum will really help me plan and get deeper into technical matters that I need to learn in a hurry.  :P

I hope you will be patient with me, and don't hesitate to have a good laugh at my stupid questions... I'm diving into forestry as a back to roots and nature project. I've got a ton of things to learn about and already quite a few things I am comfortable with (like my Stihl MS261 chainsaw...)

I hope to have fun with you guys in the next few years to come !

Best regards,

Martin

1964 Oliver 550 tractor, 41hp with custom loader and roof. Interforst SW6600 PTO driven 3tons winch. Stihl MS660 for Logosol M8 Sawmill and Stihl MS261 for firewood.

Magicman

Hello lamimartin, and Welcome to the Forestry Forum.   I wish the the best with your new adventure.   8)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

justallan1

Welcome to the forum, Lamimartin.
There's a bunch of great people here. Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Allan

Chuck White

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, Lamimartin.