iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Fuel mix question ?

Started by Bushwhacker, August 19, 2004, 09:55:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bushwhacker

Hello to all,
I changed the plug in my MS460 and it seemed to be too oil fouled . I took it to the dealer to get carb checked and RPMs checked. The mechanic said it was ok that I was getting too much oil in my gas mix. I'm using the orange bottle of Sthil brand fuel mix for 1 gal. and put into 1 gallon of fuel metered by station pump.I'm no pro,but I've been running chainsaws for over 15 years,& am very careful about fuel and maintance.
use high octane gas in mix. The 460 has a Stihl dual port muffler cover.  I had a little problem with my 018 not running right checked everything -Installed new fuel pick up, plug, air filter and still didn't rev up to full throttle.  Took muffler off and found plugged spark screen. I left the screen out and it ran good. What's wrong with my mix?  Thanks -Kenny
KLH

Dean Hylton

The first 2 questions I would ask you are: 1 - How old is your gas when used? 2 - Are you using a blended gas (alcahol or water) many brands use these to meet EPA regulations. If you are using a blended gas, try and find a fuel that is not blended. I have been buying Union 76 brand of premium and am very happy.

Bushwhacker

Dean,
My gas is about 6 weeks old.(about the max time for me) It is Shell brand. Strange thing is that I use the same mix in my Shindaiwa line trimmer and no problems with it.
KLH

Dean Hylton