iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Tenons in branching posts

Started by Prizl tha Chizl, September 07, 2022, 04:48:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Prizl tha Chizl

Ten years ago we built a little place in the woods to start a family in. We used all our own wood, salvage logging our little forest, and the design used eight branching posts

It was fun and challenging to do the joinery, and has felt so good to live in all these years. At the time, I daydreamed about doing this for a living, but I’m [I have typed a profane word that is automatically changed by the forum censored words program I should know better] (turd) for a self promoter and my priorities were with my family, so I went back to the neverending stream of mostly remodeling and repair work that can be tapped into and out of as needed, trying to take interesting or creative jobs when I could, but mostly trying not to miss out on being a part of my children’s lives.

Fast forward ten years and I’m looking at some branching posts again, this time for a friend, and thought I’d post pictures of my process. This method works, but isn’t necessarily the best way to get there, I’d be happy to hear from other folks about their experiences with round timbers and M&T joinery, or ideas for how to make this go more smoothly.