iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Equipment Auctions for used secondary wood processing equipment

Started by stanmillnc, November 17, 2021, 04:46:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stanmillnc

So I'm new to used equipment auctions and participated in my first auction yesterday. Was looking at a SLR, 43" planer/sander combo and Sawstop table saw. My expectation was that the equipment would sell for approximately half the price of new, inclusive of auction company fees, based on what others seemingly with experience had told me - boy was I wrong. I suppose that the current supply chain issues for new equipment have driven up the cost of used machinery; but not this much. Most good condition machines were selling for 2/3 to 3/4 the price of new!

Another factor might be the demographic where the auction was held - it was Amish country and they seemed to be flushed with cash and eager to spend. My previously held misconception that the Amish did not use large electrically powered machines changed as soon as I saw them rolling up to the auction site on horse drawn carriages making big cash purchases.

Anyway, is this how equipment auctions go for others? Are auctions no longer the place to get industrial woodworking equipment and are the days of good deals gone? Or perhaps I just need to wait it out until markets return to a more normal state?

Southside

Last year at a farm auction I saw stuff sell for more than new, and there have been a few on like auctions where WM mills have sold for more than a new one currently is. 
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

customsawyer