iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

DR284 Mo 05/03 tornadoes

Started by L. Wakefield, May 11, 2003, 08:12:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

L. Wakefield

Which could be entitled 'What happened to my vacation'.

I had been planning a week in DC and WV, but I am a nurse with the American Red Cross, and when they announced the tornadoes in Mo, I volunteered. It's my first national disaster assignment. I've been in Stockton for the last 5 days, and it is truly unlike anything I have done before, though it incorporates many of the more extreme aspects of EMS and emergency room work- which, of course, are already a great portion of my professional practice.

I didn't know if anyone else on the forum was working with this disaster.

Also, I have a day off tomorrow, and I am based in Springfield. I have some maps and am planning to look on the internet. I am hoping to find botanic gardens, prairie, or just plain plants to tour and enjoy. (No, not the Case plant..)

The country around Stockton is truly magnificent, and the people there are the most wonderful I can imagine. The outpouring of support gives credence to the Biblical passage- 'Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your father which is in Heaven.' That is not- in this case- a preface to passing the plate, but instead an accurate description of what is happening.

Join me in holding up these people in their grief and time of trial.    lw
L. Wakefield, owner and operator of the beastly truck Heretik, that refuses to stay between the lines when parking

Tom

Check out the Members Map, LW.  You might drive right past a forum member without it.  You're right in there within an hours drive of a handful.

L. Wakefield