iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Alaskan Mill: 066: Saw not cutting straight?

Started by bandyfro, July 04, 2018, 04:52:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bandyfro

Hi

I have an Alaskan Chainsaw mill with a Stihl 066. I am milling a Eucalyptus spp. with it, it is my first attempt with this mill. It is bloody hard work. I bought a ripping chain for the job and cut a dozen boards before I sharpened the chain with my brand new little electric grinder (I think its called a super cut) I sharpened the chisels first and then went to lower the guides but found that because it is a ripping chain and the chisels are further apart than a standard chain the flat guide on the grinder couldn't lie across 2 chisels in order to lower the guides correctly... bugger! So I done my best and lowered the guides as good as I could. I went back to my logs and cut a few boards off the narrow logs at the top of the tree without much bother apart from a little chain chatter. Then I tried to slab the bigger logs at the bottom of the tree which was about 350-400mm in width. I didnt get more than a few feet into my cut when the front of the saw started to rise up. It eventually wouldn't cut anymore because of this 'twisting/rising' action of the bar in the cut. I was able to finish the slab by using a second saw to clean/ flatten the twisted cut before continuing with the mill saw. This happened 3 times on this slab and was very frustrating.

My question is, what is happening in this scenario? Is it because some chisels were sharpened more than others, maybe more meat was removed on the left cutters than the right? Is it all because the guides are a bit off? Maybe it is unrelated to the sharpening and is the width of the slabs? Maybe I'm such an amateur that I am just missing a bit of vital 'chainsaw use' knowledge. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks
The Axe

teakwood