iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

red oak storage?

Started by northernss454, April 13, 2009, 10:50:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

northernss454

Hi I am new to fourm and am loving it.I am building my second log full scribe home and will have a pile of logs left over.White spruce is species.Anyway i am shopping for a mill and found this fourm and am glad I did.Enough about that I have a ways to go till I can saw logs.But I have a question about some red oak I own.I have a 1/4 of land with a river that runs through my land.Lots of big red oak along river around 24-36 inch.I am going to be selling the land soon,i was wondering if I were to cut all the oak maybe 50 or so,how long would they keep with bark on off the ground.And if i saw them and store them would they become usless after a while?.Maybe its a total waste of time as I bet they would not get sawn for 2 years.I know I couldnot get away with white spruce sitting for 2 years.Any help would be appriciated.Thanls all

ljmathias

Well, first, I wouldn't store any logs directly on the ground- too many bugs get in them; down here in the Deep South, it takes about a week for termites to make entry and in about 2 weeks they're all up and down the inner layer just below bark.  In a couple of months, blue stain everywhere, holes and bark falling off- not a pretty sight.

On the other hand, if you get them up on blocks (I use landscape timbers at 4X6 treated on top of cement blocks- level and support about 3-4 per timber, timbers spaced at 8-10') they last for a fair amount of time but degrade will always occur.  I had a bunch of Katrina blow down that I got up off the ground- mostly red oak with bark on- and when I finally got to it after a year to 18 months, not much problem; after 2-3 years, lots of fungal decay on the outside but still sawed out some nice wood from the center of 18-30" diameter logs.  Some of the wood was beautifully spalted- weak in some parts but with great texture and lines.