iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Processor Build, Home Made Firewood Processor

Started by Higgo, June 19, 2014, 11:07:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Higgo

Hi everyone, I've been looking at everyone else's processor builds for a couple of years now so I thought I had better share some pics of mine! It's not finished yet... I've been working on it very slowly for around 2 years but haven't really had the time until recently to actually make some headway! Anyway I'm using a 30g Danzco saw and the rest is built around an E2700 Mazda diesel truck chassis. I think it was originally around a 4 ton truck. I ripped the cab off and the tray. I've left the motor and running gear as it was. The motor is an XA 2.5l diesel. I'm told a licensed copy of a 4 cyl. Perkins. It makes 75hp. I'm currently working out the hydraulic side of things.  I did my apprenticeship in a hydraulics shop but never had to build a system (only machine components!) so I'm new to system design... and I don't like doing things twice! Any recommendations to my machine design are welcome. I'll try and get around to taking some better pics. The saw at the front of the machine is in the basics position. I mocked it up using the drum so I could see how it sits. Should I make My machine drive-able using the original running gear? or make my own hydro-static drive wheel? Or trailer it and drag it with my excavator or truck? It will be cutting long plantations of sugargum and will need to regularly move along. I'd like to have so sort of operator cab to protect from the elements. Any suggestions are welcome.
Had to redo the photos I think I did it wrong the first time!

beenthere

Welcome to the Forestry Forum.

Nice job on the pics, and right out of the box too. smiley_thumbsup

That is a healthy cutoff saw standing poised and ready to knock off a block.

Thanks for jumping in and contributing to the processor builds.