iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Timber frame with log walls?

Started by carver45, December 14, 2005, 09:28:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

carver45

Hello,

I just found this forum and bookmarked it right away. I am a newbie when comes to timber framing terms. But I have been working with wood(mostly fir and cedar). for 13 years. Just enough time to be confident enough to get myself into real trouble :D.

I am a chainsaw carver who has worked on everything under the sun. From carvings to furniture to buildings.

Well now it is time to build a house. I have just purchased a mill and am going to start cutting.

But anyways, to the point. I want to build a post and beam house, with soild timbers as the walls like a log house.  The uprights will be 18 by 18 fir timbers(overkill I know but it will be a b&b so I want it to look good) and the walls will be cedar or fir 8 x 8 's.  IT will be two storeys,  with two rooms in thr roof. I got the idea from tne fire hall down the road. It has been their for fiifty years and know one knows a lot about it.

What is the name of this construction type. I have tried numerous searches to find nothing. I need to educate myself on this and I am running into a brick wall. To answer some questions ahead of time. I am using wood because it is more economical for me that standard contructed walls. I have a good suppy of wood.

I look forward to getting to know some of you folks and thanks ahead of time for any answers you may have.

logman

piece-en-piece , not sure if I spelled it right
LT40HD, 12' ext, 5105 JD tractor, Genie GTH5519 telehandler
M&K Timber Works

carver45

Thank you logman,

Those are the words I have been looking for for 3 months.  So my hat off to you and a very very much thank you..

Now does anyone know of any books or information on  piece-en-piece wood contruction.

I am going to be on this forum everyday probablly. It is informative. And I love wood.

Bye for now guys,
Chris

Kirk_Allen