iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Tower Edger Saw

Started by Tripp, February 24, 2010, 08:06:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tripp

Just finished restoring and setting up an old Tower edger.  I have never used one before and I am uncertain what rpm it should be run at?   It seems to cut well in the 1200 rpm range. After pouring all new babbitt (8 bearings on this machine) I just wanted to make sure I am running at a safe rpm.                                                                                                                                 

Tripp

Here is a pic of a recent snow. We don't see this very often in south GA.

apm

You're accumulating quite an operation down there, Tripp. Look out Weyerhauser! There's a new competitor in town.......

Greg
Timberking 1600 now

WH_Conley

http://www.owwm.com/

This site has about anything old. Should be able to find your answer there.
Bill

JSNH

I have a Tower 27" one. You are missing your left infeed fence. I run it on a 10 HP motor. The previous owner had it set for a seperate feed motor.

Tripp

JHSN,

Thanks for the info. From looking at your pics I may be missing a kickback and chip guard on the infeed side. My machine throws alot of chips at me and has no kickback fingers. Am I seeing correctly.

Tripp

Dave Shepard

First, you've got to tell us what that power unit is. ;) Looks like a U-2?
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

Tripp

Dave,

The power unit is a u-4 Farmall. It is the same engine that is in a International H model tractor.
This engine used to power a grain mill in the early 1900's. When I bought it the motor had not run in over 55 years. The pistons were not stuck, but the valves were. It was also missing the magneto and carb. After a thorough cleaning inside and a few new parts the motor runs great.

Tripp

Dave Shepard