iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Lucas 618 gearbox gasket

Started by chep, July 26, 2012, 03:47:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chep

Milling yesterday for the first solid session. 2x6 hemlock lumber. On a horizontal cut and suddenly I feel a burn on my shin. Oil is spewing from machine. Shut it down and upon further inspection found this

called baileys. Since I bought mill used, no longer under warrenty. Sam says it doesnt sound good and might have to throw down 1000$ on a new gearbox unit etc...

waiting to hear back from Lucas.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for diagnostics?  Bad bearings etc?

thanks

logboy

I've never had problems with mine but have heard from others who have. If its just the gasket that is bad I cant see needing a whole lower unit, but I'm not an expert on it. Does your manual have the diagram breakdown in it?

I change the trans fluid in mine periodically to clean out the metal. The main bearing gets a pump or two of grease after every day of sawing as recommended.
I like Lucas Mills and big wood.  www.logboy.com

chep

Thanks logboy for your response.
I contacted Lucas mills and they recomend a new gearbox... 1000 bucks. Yes it may be just that just the seal went bad. I dont know.  Again, I am not sure how to tell. I can spin the blade by hand, and it seems like the bearings are good... Again, I dont really know
The man from Lucas did tell me the components needed to rebuild the gearbox. It sounds pretty technical and I am wondering if anyone here has done that to their mill before?

sigidi