iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Ugly logs

Started by Bibbyman, July 09, 2001, 07:26:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bibbyman

I guess everyone gets an ugly log once and a while.  Here's one I got in Sunday evening.  White oak,  about 10" on the little end.  Split, dozed out, crooked, sap rotten,  with stump attached.  :o

I've had worse.  Have you?

Wood-Mizer LT40HDE25 Super 25hp 3ph with Command Control and Accuset.
Sawing since '94

Jeff

Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

Tom

Your right Jeff but I have had them too Bibbeyman.  What gets your goat is when they want it quarter sawed into 1x12's and want you to save that "pretty" wood in the stump.

"It ought to be real pretty", they say."  "I've been drying it in the backyard for almost 3 years now."  >:(

Kevin

That looks like an ant farm.

Ron Wenrich

I've seen both sides of the equation.  Some guys have ugly logs and want FAS lumber from them.  Other guys bring in veneer quality logs to be cut into barn flooring.
Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

Bibbyman

Yea Ron,  that's the case here too.  The logs came from a local bulldozer operator.  He brought in a lowboy load of them.  All had been "aged" a year or more – at least long enough to get sap rotten.  One was a 12' white oak about 20" on the little end and not a blemish on it – would have made veneer.  Another was a really nice true northern red oak about 20' long - 14" on the top end, straight as a laser beam , end and not a knot on it.  There was also the top cut log out of the red oak that was about 20' long and clean.  One walnut log about 20' long and 16" on the top end.  The butt cut had a couple of bumps on it and a little crook about in the middle but the top 10' log was perfect. Another six or so nice long sawlogs too.