iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Quickest way to get certified to manage timber sales.

Started by Catamount17, November 18, 2019, 09:10:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Catamount17

I currently work as a sub-contractor for a forester who mostly manages timber sales and management plans for town water supply areas in western Massachusetts. I've been on the job off and on for four and a half years, but didn't start out with a degree (the forester in question is a family friend and trained me herself). However, she's looking to retire in a few years, and I'm trying to figure out the quickest way to make myself marketable as a sub-contractor to other foresters or a contractor for timber sales on private and town property. Because my boss is of an age to retire, she isn't really familiar with online programs (she frequently paces or uses a hip chain to measure distance instead of our *very* accurate Trimble, to give you an idea of what era she's from), so I thought I might be able to find some information here.

Also, while I enjoy this work, I'm not looking to do it full-time, but rather as a supplementary gig to a firewood/woodworking business. For that reason, a four year forestry degree isn't really a good investment. Ideally I'm just looking to get something on paper that says I'm qualified for what I already know how to do. My area has a deficit of foresters to the point where logging operations happen more often without the involvement of a forester, so the quality of the degree really doesn't matter either. I just need something to justify my involvement and boost my hourly rate. Online is also a must because I really can't afford to stop working in order to pursue a degree at the moment.

If anyone has any suggestions let me know!

Ron Wenrich