iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Allow Pine trees to dry before handling?

Started by jc_tx, September 15, 2019, 05:15:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jc_tx

Noob here. 
So I have earmarked about 3 70 foot pines that I will be felling and turning into lumber. My challenge is I am doing this all by hand, I have a chainsaw and a logging arch and a truck. So - heavy. I noticed when I left a tree to sit for about 6 weeks, with all its limbs intact, the handling of the tree was incredibly easy. It seemed all the moisture had been sucked out of the tree ny the branches and the logs were much, much lighter when I did this. 

If I did this would this cause problems? any comments on this approach would be appreciated.
Thanks

Southside

Lumber saws easier when it is green, it also dries more uniformly will less bug damage, spalting, etc.  Depending on how warm it has been those 6 weeks may be all you would want to wait, or not really a big deal as mills in the glaciated north will stockpile logs for the spring break up all winter long. Now August and September in Florida - that would be a different story.  
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

Magicman

I would prefer that SYP trees have been down long enough for the bark to slip but not until sawyer worms have had time to start start doing their "dirty work".

Pencil sized sawyer worm holes ain't good.  These were just right.  ;D

I start getting concerned when I drive up and the logs are on the ground rather than up on some poles, etc. 

These were still on the ground but thankfully OK.

Nothing wrong with fresh felled trees except the sticky sap.  :-X
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People