iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood-Mizer LT 40 Issue

Started by Patrick_Henry, February 24, 2021, 04:47:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Patrick_Henry

Hello folks, new to the forum! I have an elderly friend that I'm trying to help out with the above mentioned sawmill that he purchased new in 2000 and only has 150 hours on it. I am a HVAC/R mechanic by trade and was a diesel mechanic for many years before I got into the HVAC business. But I don't know anything about this sawmill so I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction. It's getting a "Caution Overload" fault when cutting head is traveling in the up position. I looked through all of the literature that came with the mill and did everything that was suggested other than checking the solenoid. But this machine doesn't have the solenoid for the lift.

He had a family member come and look at it and they installed a new battery, checked and cleaned all the electrical connections. They also cleaned and lubricated the rails that the head unit travels up and down on. I told him that I wanted to check amp draw on the little motor that moves the head up and down. So I checked amp draw and voltage drop on that motor. Amp draw traveling up is a little over 2 amps and traveling down is around 1.5 amps. I don't see a data sticker on that motor that gives rated load amps but 2 amps doesn't seem excessive to me and the voltage drop is negligible as well. He actually called wood-mizer customer service after replacing the battery and cleaning all the connections. He said they told him that it sounds like the problem may be with the setworks controller itself causing this issue.