iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How to safely take down a massive windblown white oak?

Started by rakerhead50, February 23, 2021, 01:48:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rakerhead50

Hi, I have a friend who wants a very massive white oak taken down after it was blown over from wind in a storm. The base of the tree still has a massive root ball on it and it's also noticeable that inside the base of the trunk is what appears to be large carpenter ant tunnels. The tree is at least 36" mid-trunk, but at the base it may be a little wider. I am not a professional tree service man, but me and some friends have good experience cutting trees with large chainsaws. Based on the attached photo, I would like to hear how most of you would approach this tree. You may not can see, but in the photo is a small farm fence underneath the trunk. The fence will be removed before we drop this tree to the ground. Thanks for any of your help.

DeerMeadowFarm

I don't know if it's the best way but if I had a good sized backhoe, I'd put the bucket into the top of the root ball before cutting the trunk. Then use it to slowly lower it back assuming it wants to spring back. If not, I'd work my way from the limbs towards the trunk being cautious of it lifting back up as I removed weight. 

Every situation is different. Most cases I have just severed the trunk at the base and prepared for the root ball to spring back, but it looks like a lot of longitudinal cracks going up the trunk so I'd be afraid that it act strangely once you got through half the tree.