iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sawing beams

Started by Woodfarmer, February 14, 2022, 04:05:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Woodfarmer

If someone wanted 6x6 I guess you would just box the heart of a log correct?
If sawing a 4x8 would you saw an 8x8 and then cut it right down the middle?

terrifictimbersllc

You would box the heart on both of those timbers. One always comes out of the center, if the log is big enough you can get additional ones off the sides. If you split an 8 x 8 that's heart centered into two 4x8s, you're likely to get bowed wood.
DJ Hoover, Terrific Timbers LLC,  Mystic CT Woodmizer Million Board Foot Club member. 2019 LT70 Super Wide 55 Yanmar,  LogRite fetching arch, WM BMS250 sharpener/BMT250 setter.  2001 F350 7.3L PSD 6 spd manual ZF 4x4 Crew Cab Long Bed

Iwawoodwork

Depends on the log, how large, how much sweep/curve and defects such as large knots, etc. 
I am a rookie at sawing so just cut what I want, such as 4 6x6 from one log or I have a Doug fir log that is big enough that when all of the cants are cut up I will get 8 6x6 and no twisting yet, but summer is coming so will see if I get twists when hot.  I don't think it can be worse than what the stores like HD sell. 

Southside

What TT said. Unless you have giant wood with perfect grain you may as well gamble in Vegas as the odds of success will be the same.
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder
Enough cows to ensure there is no spare time.
White Oak Meadows

terrifictimbersllc

In Vegas the house always wins. 

At the sawmill the tree gets even with you one way or another.

:new_year:
DJ Hoover, Terrific Timbers LLC,  Mystic CT Woodmizer Million Board Foot Club member. 2019 LT70 Super Wide 55 Yanmar,  LogRite fetching arch, WM BMS250 sharpener/BMT250 setter.  2001 F350 7.3L PSD 6 spd manual ZF 4x4 Crew Cab Long Bed

terrifictimbersllc