iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Logging with Horses

Started by Norm, February 22, 2004, 06:58:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Norm

I want to use my belgian draft for skidding on our place. I have no experience with a harness and have very little with draft horses in general. I was wondering if some of you folks that us em would answer some beginner questions like where do you get the harness and skidder attachments from? At what age do you start with training them? Do you prefer guildings over mares? Do you use a team or is one by itself able to do much? Any other tips would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Norm

beenthere

I think all you need is a chicken on a stick.   ;D :D :D :D

Maybe one chicken at the landing site, and another in the woods where the logs are at. Get the timing down so they pop up at the appropriate times for the belgian to start moving in that direction.

Seriously, there are Amish that could help you with the "attire" for the horse. I watched mules in New Mexico working up and down a mountain slope that moved by themselves pulling logs down to a landing. One logger at the logging site cutting and hooking up logs, with another at the deck un-hooking logs. The mules moved back and forth on their own. I have heard that horses won't do that, but then I also heard that horses don't eat chickens - so what do I know ???
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

etat

A well trained horse you can absolutely hook to the log and it'll take it straight to the trailor without assistance.  I've seen it more than once.  

When I was still living at home we always kept horses, mostly saddle horses for trail and pleasure riding.  I never did much like quarter horses as they can't hang with a good saddle horse when you're wanting to move fast in most cases.  Their primary gates are either a short lope, which eventually gets the horse tired, or a fast trot, which never suited my tailbone.