iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

My Homemade Mill.......

Started by fishingmike, April 05, 2016, 11:20:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fishingmike

So I have been working on my mill for the last 2 1/2 years. With two little ones and a business to run, spare time doesn't exist. With that progress is slow but its getting close. I made the carriage and am capable of a 38" cut. I built the frame this weekend and am a little at loss on what to do. The frame is made of 20' 2x6 rails 3/16 wall. ever 24" from each end and every 32" is a 2x3 tube cross piece. After getting everything welded up there is about 1/2" sag in the middle of the rail. I took care to weld a little at a time to avoid over heating and warping. I put a jack under it to see if it would sag at the ends. Nope. No movement which is good. It means its stout. But I was hoping to put my angle iron track on the rail and use jacks for support but I don't want to have a huge sag in my boards. I"ll post pictures soon.

fishingmike

Don_Papenburg

You welded at the top of your rectangular tube . Now you need to weld on the bottom .  Welding creates heat that shrinks metal  . Start by welding below every other cross tube starting in the center and working out .  Keep the string on tight Stop welding when you are close to straight .  Get a cup of coffee  or a beer and sit and enjoy it . go back latter and check if you need more welding .  If you weld it enough to bring it up to the string in one setting you may have to weld on top again.    Good luck 
Frick saw mill  '58   820 John Deere power. Diamond T trucks

fishingmike

Quote from: Don_Papenburg on April 06, 2016, 12:42:28 AM