iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Mulberry Mega Burl

Started by metalspinner, March 27, 2021, 05:13:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

metalspinner

This is my first post in many years and the first log i've picked up in just as many. 
This Mulberry tree has been growing across the street from the Junior High school. And I've been eyeballing it for 15 years! this week as we were passing by the school, a tree service had a saw in it and was about to drop it. So i made a quick u turn and introduced myself. 
Those guys couldn't have been happier that I would haul this thing away for them.

This is a 60" LogRite

And this is the top 8' of the log ready to go home. This top end doesn't have any burls on it. So it will become a bunch of crotchy slabs.

The butt end of the burl piece is 60" at its narrowest and the top of the burl piece is about 40".

I do what the little voices in my wife's head tell me to do.

Hilltop366

Hi, it will be interesting to see whats in there.

mike_belben

Man.. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!  Id've thought that logs got a face only a mother nature could love!

;D
Praise The Lord

WDH

I am looking forward to this!
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

samandothers

GullyBog

Fantastic, awesome to see that tree being cut so low.  They really wanted you to get every bit of that burl.
There might be a little dust on the butt log, but don't let if fool ya bout what's inside

metalspinner

Made it home with the burly bit.

Just for fun, let's all take a guess as to the weight of this thing. No cheating by using the log weight calculator! Besides, this species isn't listed anyway. I had to do some cross referencing and approximating to come up with an answer. I'll share my numbers after a fair number of guesses.

BTW, it's easier to get these things onto the trailer than off the trailer.

Old Greenhorn