iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

1st time drying white oak in the L53 kiln

Started by blackhawk, March 22, 2024, 09:42:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

blackhawk

This is my first time drying white oak in my Nyle L53 kiln.  It is all 10/4 thick slabs, 26-30" wide and 10' long.  I am getting steady drying but it is slow.  It has been slower than 10/4 walnut slabs that I dried a few months ago.  I am at 122° and 22%RH in the kiln, so my kiln environment is setting around 4.2% EMC.  I am only getting 0.3 to 0.4 drop in EMC per day.  I have a wind meter and I am getting good flow through the stack.  My compressor never kicks on because the kiln air has stayed dry over the past 10 days.  I've actually had to throw some water on the floor to keep the humidity up a few times. 

Is the 0.3 to 0.4% EMC normal for 10/4 white oak?  I attached a graph of my actual moisture content of the lumber.  I have seven Lignomat PK probes in my lumber in different areas that I read with my meter daily.

Lucas 7-23 with slabber. Nyle L53 kiln. Shopbot CNC 48x96

doc henderson

I do not have a kiln, but oak goes slow and the thicker the wood, the slower.  if you are making steady progress that sounds good.  If you push too hard, you may get more degrade.  at the MC you are at, surface moisture and therefor airflow becomes less important.  what is your target MC.
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

doc henderson