iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

arc welder wiring issue?

Started by Wisconsintimber, September 21, 2020, 04:14:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wisconsintimber

I have a typical old style 220v 125amp ac Lincoln arc welder. My question is...is there supposed to be voltage on the ground clamp side?  I sometimes get a shock from the work piece when the ground clamp is connected even when I'm not even holding the work(electrode) end, especially if welding outside.  I have also shorted out a trouble light that I sat on my welding table when the ground clamp was clamped to it.  So I tested and I have about 80v going from the ground clamp to the steel on my shed.  Seems alarming to me?  I also have a 250a ideal arc so I plugged that in and got the same results...Do I have a short in the shop wiring?

Patrick NC

I am not a licensed electrician but it sounds like a ground problem. Might be a good idea to get a qualified electrician to have a look. 
Norwood HD36, Husky 372xp xtorq, 550xp mk2 , 460 rancher, Kubota l2501, Case 1845 skid steer,

mike_belben

Your shed and your ground clamp need to be at the same potential to prevent shock hazard.  Does the shed service have a properly bonded, dedicated ground?  Does the welder ground line have continuity to the welder chassis and the shed ground circuit?
Praise The Lord

YellowHammer

Yes, you have a potentially very serious problem.  I don't know exactly how your shed is wired, but it sure doesn't sound like it has a local ground rod tied into the electrical panel ground bus as required by code for just this purpose.  Or the shed itself isn't grounded as well.  It's time to open up the electrical panel and see how it is wired, if all the neutrals and grounds are properly tightened, if the bonding grounds are intact, etc and check all the circuits especially the welder circuit.  You may just have a loose lug.