iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

propagating red and white Oak from seed?

Started by locustoak, September 19, 2010, 06:56:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

locustoak

This year I thought I'd try to start some northern red oak, and white oak from seed.  I've been busy collecting the seeds lately, so now to the planting part...

For the Red oak, is it ok for me to go ahead and stick the seeds in the refrigerator now?  Or should I wait a couple months when the weather cools off?  I thought maybe you can "stratify" them too long?

For the White oak, they are suppose to germinate in the fall, but will it actually send up a green shoot now, or will only the roots develop now then send up a shoot in the spring?  I was going to put the seeds into some 2-liter bottles that have the tops cut off, water them, and let them set in the sun for a couple months to see if they sprout or not.

Any other tips or help is appreciated.  I'm new at this!  I plan on starting all the seeds in containers (the white oak now, then red oak in the spring.) because we have a severe squirrel problem.

Banjo picker

Put them in a bucket of water, the ones that float ...throw them away, as they won't come up....You may be picken them a little early, but you are several hundred miles north of me....The white oak acorns will almost sprout when they hit the ground, but that don't happen till Oct here....I have not worked with any reds....Tim
Never explain, your friends don't need it, and your enemies won't believe you any way.

Magicman

I plant them when I pick them up.  That's what nature does.  Plant them about 2" deep, just like squirrels do.  I've had very good success with Cherrybark Red as well as White Oak.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

locustoak