iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

first Sawmill shed

Started by Florida boy, June 16, 2017, 11:29:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Florida boy

I've been milling for about 8 months now. Pretty much from the get go I've been wanting to build myself a sawmill shed/woodshop. shortly after I got my feet wet I set out to cut the post needed for a "pole barn" style building. I figured that using Steel trusses would give me the most unobstructed open space. and be easier to install.
the overall dimensions are 72'×32''×12'. I have found a a local truss manufacturer that builds pole barn trusses out of 1.5" square tubing for top and bottom cords that have a 160 MPh wind rating. I will be using 8×8 ×16 that I cut myself and have just got back from pressure treating with .80cca.
    I plan on having a 23' girder made for the sawmill opening. this will give me 24' from outside of first post to center of second post. on the opposite side I plan on having a post on 12' to catch the other side of the girder truss. the next three bays Im planing on 16' centers . that way I can air dry 14' and12' lumber easily.
   talking with the truss manufacturer he says I should be fine with 16' centers as long as I use 2×8s for purlins. I plan on using metal for roofing. no snow load here in northwest Florida.
   I plan on burying the post 4.5' deep with small gravel under and around the post 4-6".
right now I haven't purchased any trusses yet only thing I have done is spread 54 yards of clay to build up the grade a bit. will probably have 12" of sand clay mix packed and topped with some kind of stone. I can get dolomite pretty cheap locally. has anyone used dolomite for there shed floor?
what do you guys think about the layout? 
  once I get the barn built I want to enclose one of the 16' bays for a wood shop. I think I will probably do a concrete floor but have thought of wood since I have a mill.