iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

When to grade and not to grade, that is the question

Started by Jordan Beyer, February 25, 2022, 12:26:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jordan Beyer

Hello everyone. I'm a forestry student near the end of my third year. I currently have an associates from my previous college so I'm still pretty new at all of this. At my former college, we graded standing timber using the Forest Service tree grading chart, then organized it into a grade utilization spreadsheet to get the totals.  I had a few questions regarding this and asked around. I was basically told people don't do that and that they just use ungraded stumpage for that area. Basically saying that statistically law of averages come into play and it all works out to be that said stumpage.  I'm really not buying all that, and although it may be true in some stances, certainly not for all. 

So my question is much broader than before, but how often do consulting foresters grade timber? What are some factors that a forester will look for when deciding to grade or not?  And one last thing, is there any advantage to grading even if the average price per board foot equals ungraded stumpage when say organizing a bid or in any other circumstances? 

Thanks for your time
Jordan

stavebuyer

It depends on the region as well as the quality of the stand. Some consultants in my region only grade veneer while others grade every log. Working as a buyer I can tell you that you can grade to the nth degree and the reality is that buyers will develop a trust for the accuracy of your volume numbers but pretty well reserve the grading and valuation determinations. The timber feller, guy bucking up at the landing, and log grader at the mill induce so many variables that many times overall historical averages come closer to the "real" result than over-complicated analytics.

mudfarmer