iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Blades,boards and big logs

Started by EmannVB, May 03, 2010, 09:37:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EmannVB

Ahh, so I'm officially into "retirement" (although still flying for pay...), and really getting into my sawing.  When I bought my mill (used '06 B-20, with 70hrs) it came with about 20 blades in various stages of useage.  Some obviously beyond use, others looked pretty new.  Well, I used up the "pretty new" pile, and started into the "not so pretty" pile.  After a couple ugly passes, I decided I need some shiny new blades...
Hmmmm.... so off to the forum to harvest info on the best blades and deals... Well, I guess it's kinda like the "What mill to buy" qustion.  I'm sawing mostly Poplar right now, but will probably jump into Hickory and White Oak when I'm ready for my beams.  I'm not a production operation, just sawing from my land for my personal consumption.  I've had pretty good cuts with the TK Ultra blades that came with the mill, but being a Novice, I'd like some seasoned opinions.  Best blade for the buck? Anyone know of any secret forum pricing?

~Mark

2006 TK B20, 2005 JD TLB 110, 2007 JD 4520, Stihl MS 390, Husqy 350, 1970 Homelite C72, Husky 22 ton splitter, Kawasaki Brute Force 750, and a King Ranch F350 to haul it all!

sgschwend

Sounds like it would be helpful to know of a good saw service so you could get your used blades straighten out.

The one I use is in Idaho so that might be too far for you.  The saws make the job go, you need them to be good as a new person that can be challenging.

Steve Gschwend

sjgschwend@gmail.com

Bibbyman

We started out with Wood-Mizer blades and then found other brands at a lower price.  After going around with a couple of brands, we came back to Wood-Mizer.  Not to say there are not other good blades out there and maybe a few that are a better value from time to time but consistently,  the Wood-Mizer blades have performed well.  And buying in some larger volume helps.