iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Questions about bark

Started by Mrbrettbaker, March 12, 2021, 07:04:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mrbrettbaker

Hello, complete noob here. I have a 16 acre wooded lot I will be building on. I design and build machinery for a living and am building a sawmill to make use of the timber I will have to cut down. Unfortunately there are a bunch of trees, mostly pine that I will have to drop now and it may be a year before I can mill them. I read that not getting the bark off could ruin the lumber. Would this just be the lumber close to the bark? Could I just cut the first Inch or 2 off and salvage the inner wood? There are some very large  trees.. Any education as how to save some of this lumber would be greatly appreciated.

WDH

The main issue is insect and fungal infestation.  Two completely natural processes in nature.  The insects love the inner bark in a downed log and it is an attractant.  Fungal spores are everywhere.  Insects  are the biggest problem.  They penetrate the wood and create pathways for the fungal spores to enter the wood.  

You can prevent insect infestation by thoroughly spraying disodium octaborate tetrahydrate, a borate salt that is harmless to animals but deadly to insects.  One commercial product that is labeled for insect control is Timbor.  However, the sprayed logs must be protected from the rain as the borate is water soluable and rain will wash it out.  
Woodmizer LT40HDD35, John Deere 2155, Kubota M5-111, Kubota L2501, Nyle L53 Dehumidification Kiln, and a passion for all things with leafs, twigs, and bark.  hamsleyhardwood.com

DonW

Maybe you have some water where you could submerge the logs. Watering wood is something rarely done now but earlier was a way to store and protect and even improve wood before it got milled. 
Hjartum yxa, nothing less than breitbeil/bandhacke combo.

Iwawoodwork