iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood-Mizer LT40 Super HD Gearbox Bearing

Started by Cabo Waitna, August 07, 2011, 10:33:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cabo Waitna

All, I am new to Wood-Web.  I have a processing plant in Managua, Nicaragua and a saw milling operation up in the north where the wood comes from.  I use Wood-Mizers due to the need for portability and I really like them.  However, I am not an expert with Wood-Mizers (yet) but like anybody in this business I am handy with a wrench.  You can imagine how remote my machines are and why reliance on certified techs is nearly impossible.  At any rate, I need to know at this time what is the bearing size in the up/down gear box.  I have seen some issues reported here about this issue and we too experienced the drying out of the bearing.  I need to replace them but need the size.  Wood-Mizer only replaces the whole gearbox and that's not necessary.  I buy my parts here in the city and then send them up by bush plane.  In this case these bearing sizes are only available on the bearing itself unless one of you kind gentleman can help me out.  The exact bearing number would be great but an ID, OD and width would be just gtreat too.  Thanks a million and I look forward to being a productive member of the forum.

beenthere

Welcome to the forum Cabo

You will find a lot of interest here, and many knowledgable members who are willing to help with the WM as well as being interested in your life stories and work with your WM.

Pull up a stump and join in the fun.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Magicman

Welcome Cabo Waitna, to the Forestry Forum, not Wood-Web.   :)

I am on the road so it would be about another week before I can look in my files and get you the number, but the bearing number (size) is stamped on the side of the outside bearing race.  Just replace the open bearing with a sealed one with the same number.