iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

White pine slabs and hobby horses

Started by Dana Stanley, August 25, 2019, 06:10:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dana Stanley

So I finally got to try the mill on the trailer, and it went very well I put the big log on with the winch, and bracket that I made last week. One log was 8'x 24" one was 3'x 26"(had to trim it down to get it to 26", and one was 4'x 24". I had to put new rear guide bearings, but I had ordered them as the last time I ran it, asI could hear they were getting loud. I've cut about 16 logs 14" to 26" x 12'-6" doesn't seem like the bearings should have let go already, but I am just learning, so maybe I have been pushing too hard on it!

Tough cutting a 36" log when you have 37" between bucks, but I used some of the 4' boards that I cut to make it work. I made slabs that will likely be board n batten, and I made 4x4s, and 4x6 for timber frame saw horses. My wifes cousin wanted to make some, to try his hand at timber framing. So I made enough for me too, that was out of the 3 and 4' logs, I made some wide pieces for signs too.
I do have a question as you can see in one of the pic I was getting some waves when entering the cut. I adjusted the blade guides to be sure they weren't loose, but it did it still. It did seem to stop after a while, and didn't do it at all on the narrower cants.

So glad to be up and running, I have had all this other stuff to do, and have been anxious to get back to it.

Making Sawdust, boards and signs.
Woodland Mills HM-126
Kabota B-7800 with backhoe and loader
Ford Ranger, Husqvarna 455 20", Mac 610 24", other chainsaws 14", 23 ton log splitter
Matthew 3:10

doc henderson

i always enter the cut slow until i cannot see the blade, but those look to be 6 " in.  not sure.  the end product looks great, congrats.  i am sure you will get the bugs worked out.