iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cutting Lengthwise Notch in Hickory Logs for Rustic Furniture

Started by jbasen, November 30, 2018, 05:22:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbasen

As a woodworking hobbyist I've built a lot of Stickley style furniture for our home.  However, I'm fairly new to building rustic furniture with hickory logs that we are intermixing with the Stickley style furniture we have.  I need to cut a 90 degree notch lengthwise down a log that will be the leg of a cabinet, so the casework of the cabinet can fit into the log.  

I built a rustic style trundle bed with hickory logs and cut 90 degree notches to support the bed slats by creating a jig and running my track saw down the length of the log, rotating the log 90 degrees, and running the track saw down the log a second time.  That worked well with a 3" diameter log where the notch needed to run the entire length of the seven foot long log.  When I built a couple of nightstands I cut the notch for the casework into the hickory log legs with an oscillating tool.  However, in that case I only needed to cut a 6" long notch at the top of the log since the casework just consisted of a single drawer.  In all honesty the oscillating tool was put under a lot of strain trying to cut the notch in the hard hickory.  

For my next project I am building a low cabinet so the logs for the legs are about 30" long and the notch needs to be around 26" long so the casework can fit into the leg. 

Because the notch won't run the entire length of the log, the track saw I used for the trundle bed won't really work.  Also, after my experience building the night stands, I don't think the oscillating tool will handle cutting notches that are 26" long.  

Any ideas on a better way to cut long notches in a log will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Wudman