iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

difference between firewood kiln and lumber kiln?

Started by BrianT5150, August 17, 2019, 10:51:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BrianT5150

Is there a difference between a firewood kiln and a kiln used for drying lumber (dimensional for wood-working projects)?  I have looked everywhere for this and all searches take me to differences between one of these and air drying.  I just joined this forum and did a search here as well and could not find it.  I just want to know if the same kiln can be used to dry both firewood and lumber (not at same time).  I know heat treating is all the rage and I will have questions about that later, but now I am curious about the drying process of the kiln.
thanks

barbender

I think (I'm no expert, I've just looked into it a little bit) that a firewood kiln will likely have more btu's and airflow for a given size, because you are trying to push the moisture out as quickly as possible- not in a controlled manner as is the case with lumber. As far as heat treating, it is a standard of getting the core of the wood up to a certain temperature and maintaining it for a set amount of time. It could be done during the kiln drying process (I'm sure it usually is) but it is a seperate standard from drying. You can have firewood that is heat treated, that isn't dry.
Too many irons in the fire

BrianT5150

Thanks.  Been researching it all morning (and the last 3 months) and did find some stuff, but what you said makes good sense.  thanks again

YellowHammer

A firewood kiln will turn good lumber into firewood.

A lumber kiln will turn good lumber into better lumber.

A firewood kiln is similar to a blast furnace for wood.  High temps, high moisture removal rate, short cycle times, cracked and split wood.

A lumber kiln is more of a slow dryer, or even a food dehydrator for some models.  Slower but very controlled drying rates, lower temps, relsult in much higher grade, defect free, boards.
YellowHammerisms: