iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Kiln drying and storing

Started by DPatton, December 26, 2020, 08:28:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DPatton

I have been kicking around the idea of building a kiln for a couple years now. The problem I have is I don't have a climate controlled building to store dried wood in once it comes out of a kiln. I have a place to store it where I can keep it out of the rain under a roof, but I don't have any control over the temperature or humidity. I do know that I loose many buyers because my products are not kiln dried. I've always been 100% honest about this with potential buyer's and very few are comfortable with purchasing air dried lumber and slabs. 
So I have a question to you experienced members who dry and store wood. How important is it to have a climate controlled storage facility for wood coming out of the kiln. What happens to kiln dried wood if it is not stored in a climate controlled enclosure? I know it will pick up RH but will the wood give up that RH and stabilize once it is taken back into a climate controlled atmosphere like the buyers shop or home? 
Your experience and expert input will be greatly appreciated! 
TimberKing 1600, 30' gooseneck trailer, Chevy HD2500, Echo Chainsaw, 60" Logrite.

Work isn't so bad when you enjoy what your doing.
D & S Sawmill Services

WDH

Water evaporates from wood into the air if the forces of equilibrium point that way.  Water vapor can also leave the air and move into the wood if the forces of equilibrium point that way.  If the wood comes out of the kiln at 7.7% moisture content, it will remain at 7.7% if the relative humidity is 40%.  If the relative humidity is 65%, then moisture will move into the wood from the air and the wood will increase in moisture content to 12%.  As wood regains moisture, it also changes shape in that the wood will swell and become thicker and wider just a bit as it equalizes to the higher relative humidity.