iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Correct amperage fuses for WM HD40

Started by wolf nemeth, October 13, 2015, 10:28:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wolf nemeth

Yesterday i fired up  the olde Mizer, but only for a second. Suddenly nothing worked, and I  found a destroyed fuse in the metal box (bad idea!) next to the battery.   there was a spare, a  150 amp --250V fuse , but  i read a previous post saying that  they'd  used 100 amp fuses. .
t\This is the top fuse. there's another 225A fuse in there too.
So should I be using  a 100 or a 150 amp fuse at the top?  And can I use a fuse  rated for 600V?  ...sure would hate to burn up the unit by  scrounging...
If you  don't know where you're going, you'll probably end up somewhere else!

POSTON WIDEHEAD

I'm no electrician. Anytime I have a fuse go out, I replace it with the same fuse that went out.
If I have any questions when it comes to an electrical issue, I always call Woodmizer and TAKE their advice.

This is just something I do....a phone call is free.....when I burn something up on my mill.....well.......calling makes me feel better.  :)
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

Chuck White

I didn't know that they started using 150amp fuses, but with all the computer stuff on the newer mills, it's to be expected.

I would suggest you replace the blown fuse with the same type and amp that it calls for.

A call to Wood-Mizer will usually have a new fuse to your door within 1-2 days!

On my mill I replaced the 100amp fuse with a 12v, 100amp circut breaker!
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

Magicman