iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Blackberry / raspberry bushes

Started by woodland84, August 05, 2020, 07:59:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodland84

Is there an effective way to get rid of blackberry and raspberry bushes? I'm not a fan of chemicals, but realize that this may be the only option. They are scattered quite heavy throughout my tree lot and are a nuisance. The area receives a lot of sun as well. I normally cut many off when working in the lot, but this is a short term fix.

Stephen1

I think you just keep using the weed eater if you do not want to use chemicals. I have been fighting them at my house for a few years. The have gotten into my garden now. They have a great underground runner system. 
I also make sure I eat the fruit to make them worth having them around.
IDRY Vacum Kiln, LT40HDWide, BMS250 sharpener/setter 742b Bobcat, TCM forklift, Sthil 026,038, 461. 1952 TEA Fergusan Tractor

mike_belben

Get a grubber attachment for atv or whatever and pull them out by the stem.
Praise The Lord

maple man

On my lot in Central Maine the raspberries came in pretty heavily about 4-5 years after a hard cut in 2000 but eventually got shaded out by saplings and died back. Some areas which were covered with them 15 years ago now have a thick stand of 20-25 foot oak saplings and no berry bushes. 2-5 acre patches I had cut four years ago have a bumper crop of berries this year but I am hoping for the same eventual take over of hard woods.

mudfarmer

Quote from: maple man on August 05, 2020, 08:07:43 PM
On my lot in Central Maine the raspberries came in pretty heavily about 4-5 years after a hard cut in 2000 but eventually got shaded out by saplings and died back. Some areas which were covered with them 15 years ago now have a thick stand of 20-25 foot oak saplings and no berry bushes. 2-5 acre patches I had cut four years ago have a bumper crop of berries this year but I am hoping for the same eventual take over of hard woods.