iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

milling frozen white spruce

Started by paddler, January 19, 2016, 10:48:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

paddler

Hey folks, ive learned a ton on here from lurking around. Im brand new at this and have so far only cut a pile of smaller sized balsam into 2x4 and 2x6 and haven't cut any other species of wood. thats been goign pretty well for the most part. I have heard a few stories from local guys about cutting frozen white spruce being very difficult. Right now, I have 12 cords of white spruce logs sitting in a clear cut that is mine and ready to mill. my question is, am I better off milling it now, frozen, or waiting till spring?

I am cutting most of it into 6x6 beams for a log cabin project. How long should this dry before its useable? sorry, I guess that's two questions.....

LittleJohn

I am by no means a production sawyer, more of a hobbyist with the occasional paying job.  Here are my pros and cons, to cutting in winter

Cons
   ...if wood is frozen it is harder to cut and you and your helpers will also be cold (until you lift the first slab)
   ...have fun with the taper on a spruce
   ...if you run lube, it has to be mixed with anti-freeze  ;D
   ...might have a hard time starting motor, if sawing outside

Pros
   ...minimal sap spraying off the blade (in summer fresh spruce sap looks like water out the sawdust shoot)
   ...in sawing mobile, a full day of sawing is like 6-7 hours TOPS!!!
   ...what else do you have to do, no good sports are on TV til after dark anyway
   ...slabs can be thrown right on a burn pile to make break time a bit warmer or at least manageable

GAB

LittleJohn wrote "...if you run lube, it has to be mixed with anti-freeze "
I would use some -30*F windshield washer fluid and if needed add some soap.
If you have a blade lube pump on your mill, in your area of the country, you need to take precautions that it does not freeze or there will be a high probability that you will need to replace it.